step 2: stepping outside of your comfort zone

step two: stepping outside of your comfort zone.


welcome back.

so here we are, step two.
step two is where we step out of our comfort zone. enough of the old, mundane, daily routine. it’s time to put ourselves out there. it’s time to create new positive memories. it’s time to stop living in the past, and start living for the future.

i want to start this off with a bible verse that really stood out to me while reading, daily readings from your best life now, by joel osteen.

the eye is the lamp of the body; so then if your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light. but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. if then the light that is in you is darkness, how great is the darkness! matthew 6:22-23

this verse really spoke to me. it reminds us to be open to seeing ourselves rise from where we are or where we were. it reminds us that everyone has an image of where we’d like to see ourselves in the future and that image of ourselves depends on our mindset. it’s easy to always expect the worst and to see ourselves stuck in the past forever, but it’s also just as easy to see ourselves happy and living life to its full potential.

in order to start living our lives to its full potential, we need to start believing that good things are coming our way. through this, we are then capable of putting ourselves out there and stepping out of our comfort zones.

stepping outside of my comfort zone is something that i am still working on, but through this process, i have been able to create new relationships, new memories and a new image of myself. anyone who has known me in the past would definitely know me for someone who doesn’t enjoy reading, writing or even talking to people i am not familiar with, but since then… a lot has changed.

this is me, learning to be open to new experiences. this is me, learning more about myself. this is me, stepping outside of my comfort zone.

i’ve never really been the type of person to go out of my way to create new relationships and bonds with people. i always thought that, “if it happens, it happens.” i was always so afraid of stepping out of my own bubble because of how unfamiliar or uncomfortable it would make me feel, but i’ve realized that doing so can lead to great things.

for example, throughout this last month alone, i’ve been making plans with people i never thought i’d ever make plans with. i’ve also been reading a lot more, i created this blog page and i even decided to apply to new jobs. these are things that i would have never thought i’d be doing because i was so set on living my life the way i’ve always lived it. i had a routine, i worked, i went to school, i saw the same person every week and that was really just about it. of course i tried new things here and there, but it was never enough for me to change my entire life and the way i saw myself around. my life was a routine. don’t get me wrong, i was happy with my life, i was happy with where i was, i was happy with the people i surrounded myself with, but i never really entertained the idea that there was a lot more to life than just whatever i had in front of me. i was too comfortable. there’s definitely nothing wrong with that, but in order to learn about yourself and in order to live life to its full potential, you need to be open to stepping outside of your boundaries.

i think that it’s safe to say that through stepping outside of my comfort zone and through trusting the process, i am on the right path to creating a better version of myself. having a positive image of myself and where i want to be in the future really helps in this process. for as long as you see yourself doing well and living well, that’s what you will continue to work towards and will later on achieve in the future. it’s a slow process, but it’ll definitely be worth the wait.

i am very thankful and blessed to have the people i have in my life and without them, i wouldn’t be where i am right now. without pushing myself to step outside of my comfort zone, i would have never created the friendships i have. so thank you to those who have stuck around and to those who encourage me every day to continue this positive journey. you guys know who you are. thank you for helping me and watching me grow.  thank you for always reminding me to trust the process.

 

so with that being said,

stay tuned for step three: communication.

thanks for coming on this journey with me, there’s a lot more a head of us.

till then, don’t forget to trust the process.

 

jo

 

 

Leave a Reply

